Course 5…

19Jan11

Thinking about Course 5… and a way to integrate technology into the classroom.

I’ve known for a while now that I want to use technology in our upcoming science unit, The Garden. I’m not sure exactly how I want to do it, but I’ve been looking at our T.A.I.L. Standards to help me gather some ideas.

I want to put cameras into the hands of my Kindergarten students. This will include learning how to handle an expensive piece of equipment. I want to expose them to a brief photography lesson; for example, the difference between a good photograph and a bad photograph. We do a lot of sketching and recording in our Garden Unit, so I know that this can be easily integrated.

I’m trying to figure out what I want to do with the photographs and that has me a little stumped. Uploading their photos onto Flickr requires a few too many steps for my five and six year olds to handle. I think I want a place where the kids can get feedback from their parents, and we can open up our learning community.

I’ve thought about a variety of mediums: VoiceThread, Twitter, a blog… but I think I want to create class Facebook page. It’s something I’ve been thinking about for a while.

I’m hoping that the parents in my class are already on Facebook. If not I might have to reconsider…

No Responses Yet to “Course 5…”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

