Connected.

12Dec10

 

In September, Jeff said in his TEDx talk Community Trumps Content that, “Our students are being suppressed today.”

Turn off your cellphone.

Get off Facebook.

Stop texting under your desk.

 

I was born in late 1985. There has been a computer in my house since I was in the sixth grade. I’ve had an email account since I was eleven or twelve. I’ve had a cellphone since I was 14. I’ve had a Facebook account for six years.

I’ve been connected to the internet for over half my life.

And regardless of how old you are, most of you are connected, today, whether you like it or not.

As Jeff says, “Society today expects you to be connected.”

So why is it that our students today get so much backlash for growing up digital?

I don’t think we really realize; these students will never know a time when they weren’t connected. I know parents who have Gmail addresses for their kids in Kindergarten. They don’t use it yet. But they will. Soon. I saw one of my former students, now in first grade, talking on her cell phone just a few weeks ago. These kids, our future generation, will be connected in some way shape or form for as long as they can remember.

Often times I hear “kids today are on Facebook all the time” and “they can never let go of their cellphones”. What is this digital divide?

Wouldn’t you be frustrated if your phone suddenly stopped working? Or if your work email went down without any warning?

These are inconveniences to many of us because we understand the expectations of our present day society.

But our students don’t know what it means to not be connected.

So why are we forcing them to disconnect?

No Responses Yet to “Connected.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

