Photography

17Oct10

So over the course of the past few blog posts you’ve learned that a) I’m an avid reader (when I have the time) and b) I think about clicking. You are about to learn that c) I’m a wannabe photographer.

I took a few photography classes in high school and fell in love with printing my own black and white photos. I was lucky enough to mix in some photo classes while I was at NYU and learned more about photo composition.

How does this have anything to do with visual literacy?

I know a little bit about photography and this makes me a picky photo chooser.

During my blogging process, one of the things that takes the longest time is finding the perfect picture. I can spend hours on Flickr looking through photos for the one that’s just right. I’m a firm believer that a picture is worth a thousand words. And there are a lot of okay photos on Flickr. But I don’t want to settle for something that’s okay. One of Garr Reynolds’ posts on his Presentation Zen blog says that,

Visuals that surprise people, touch them, delight them, and support your story are best because they affect people in an emotional way. People are more likely to remember your content in the form of  stories and examples, and they are also more likely to remember your content if your visuals are unique, powerful and of the highest quality.

Looking back on some of my old blog posts, I spent hours looking for that picture. One that is relevant to my topic that would surprise and capture my audience. Something like this is a good example.

I’m also a Kindergarten teacher. I almost always need a visual to teach something to my students.

Thinking about the quality of photography I choose to use in my blog got me thinking about some of the images I use when I work with my students. Usually I look for something that is simple and easily communicated with very few distractions. With an audience composed of sixteen five-year-olds, I need to make my point and communicate it quickly.

How can I utilize what I now know about visual literacy to provide an engaging learning experience for my students?

No Responses Yet to “Photography”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

